Fall 2017 Meeting Announcement

The Fall 2017 meeting is set for Friday, November 17, 2017, at Middle Georgia State University. You are invited to bring members of your retirees organization board or others from your campus who are interested in forming a retirees organization. Click on the “Conference Registration” link above to register by November 10.


Spring 2017 Meeting Announcement

Spring 2017 Meeting set for May 5, 10:00-2:00 at the Georgia Archives in Morrow. This meeting is hosted by the Clayton State retirees organization. Gather your organization leaders and significant administrators from your University and join us for an interesting and informative day!


Spring 2017 Meeting Set

May 5, 2017 – Please save the date!

GA-HERO welcomes higher education retirees and their representatives to the spring meeting hosted by Clayton State University, to be held at the Georgia Archives on Friday, May 5 – 9:30 registration and coffee, 10:00 to 2:00 meeting.  Form a carpool and bring your current and future leaders, e.g., members of your governing board and school administrators.  A goal of GA-HERO is to help retiree organizations plan for management succession.  The cost is $15/person for the meeting, which includes coffee/snacks and lunch.

Do you have an example of a best practice at your retirement organization that you would like to share at the meeting?  If so, please send a one-page summary to any of the officers that can be a handout and perhaps be presented.

We are arranging a stimulating meeting, details to follow soon.

You can register online, www.ga-hero.org using the “Conference Registration” link or contact Dave Ewert at dewert@gsu.edu to RSVP.

GA-HERO at AROHE Conference

Arohe2016 copy

We are very pleased to have eight members of GA-HERO attending the AROHE conference in Seattle this week. They are John Bugge, Gray Crouse, Gretchen Schulz, Holly York, and Marilynne McKay from Emory; Missy Cody from Georgia State; Dennis Marks from Valdosta State; and Dorothy Zinsmeister from Kennesaw State. The conference theme is “Transforming Retirement.” For more information, go to http://www.arohe.org/2016-conference-details. We look forward to hearing about the conference from our members at our next meeting.


GA-HERO Election Results 2015-16

The voting members* of GA-HERO have elected the nominated slate of officers and selected their representatives on the GA-HERO Board of Directors as follows:

Officers (1-year terms):

President – David Ewert, Georgia State

Vice President – John Bugge, Emory

Treasurer – John Bugge, Emory

Secretary – Carol Pope, Kennesaw State


Directors (2-year terms):

Emory University – Gretchen Schulz

Georgia Perimeter College – Robert McDonough

Georgia State University – Harry Dangel

Kennesaw State University – Dorothy Zinsmeister

University of West Georgia – Wanda McGukin

Valdosta State University – Fred Ware


*Schools that belong to AROHE are voting members of GA-HERO.  Other schools are affiliated members of GA-HERO.